Wht are . . . . Monocotyledons ?


Wheat growing in a Gloucestershire field

Monocotyledons (liliopsida) are traditionally one of the two main groups of flowering plants, the other being the dicotyledons. What distinguishes the monocots is the single leaf in the seed (cotyledon) and flower petals in multiples of three. There are over 60,000 recognised species contained within some of the largest families of flowering plants such as the orchids (20,000 species) and grasses (10,000 species). Most of the agriculturally and economically important plants are in here from rice, wheat, barley and sugar cane to palms, bamboo and bananas.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: