Denmark is in it to win it as artists are revealed

Copenhagen, Denmark –

Today the 10 talented and varied acts competing in this year’s Dansk Melodi Grand Prixwere revealed by broadcaster DR. If that wasn’t enough, big changes to the competition were also announced.

Denmark is in it to win it as artists are revealed

The Artists of DMGP 2012. Photo: Bjarne Bergius Hermansen (DR)

The Danish national selection is taking a new twist this year as DR ups its game and presents 10 impressive acts, who will all battle it out to represent Denmark at the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest in Baku in May.

There are some big names in the competition this year, both behind the scenes and on stage, all vying for the top spot on the 21st of January at the Gigantium Arena in Aalborg.

Most notably in the context of Europe’s favourite TV show, we see the return of the songwriter team who brought Germany its first victory in 28 years – John Gordon and Julie Frost.

DR’s slogan is “This year is the year” and in addition to these 10 terrific acts, changes have been made to the voting procedure with an international jury being involved for the first time. Keep on reading to find out more!

The 10 acts – A varied selection of supremely talented artists.

After placing in the top 5 two years in a row, Denmark really has a thirst for victory, which is why they have put a lot of effort into finding 10 acts that all have winning potential. As such DR has managed to lure a whole swath of artists, producers and writers who are not only successful in Denmark but also abroad.

Four of the acts were invited by DR to compete as Wildcards. These are noted below.

Later on today we will publish a detailed description of all the acts and songwriters right here on so stay tuned for that. In the meantime, take a look at the 10 acts below (in order of appearance):

Take Our Hearts (Wildcard)
Artist: Jesper Nohrstedt
Music & Lyrics: Morten Hampenberg, Engelina & Mads B.B. Krog

Music & Lyrics: Søren Itenov, Christoffer Stjerne & Tine Lynggaard

Best Thing I Got
Artist: Aya
Music & Lyrics: John Gordon & Julie Frost

Reach For The Sky
Artist: Kenneth Potempa
Music & Lyrics: Peter Bjørnskov, Lene Dissing & Sune Haansbæk

Artist: Ditte Marie
Music & Lyrics: Mike Eriksson, Johnny Sanchez & Hanif Sabzevari

Baby Love Me
Artist: Philip Halloun & Emilia
Music & Lyrics: Philip Halloun & Emilia

Forever I B Young (Wildcard)
Artist: Suriya
Music & Lyrics: Suriyatim Hoffmann, Thomas Hoffmann & Jakob Winge

Artist: Karen Viuff
Music & Lyrics: Lise Cabble, Boe Larsen & Simon Borch

Should’ve Known Better (Wildcard)
Artist: Soluna Samay
Music & Lyrics: Remee, Chief 1 & Isam B

Venter (Wildcard)
Artist: Christian Brøns & Patrik Isaksson
Music & Lyrics: Christian Brøns, Patrik Isaksson & Rune Braager

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: